Momma got a new toy!

D and I decided it was about time we bought ourselves a toy. After several months of taking mediocre pictures of our precious baby boy, we took the plunge and purchased a Canon Rebel T3i.

Big purchase — but well worth it.

We’ve been thinking about buying one for a while, and even borrowed one last week. We weren’t disappointed. The pictures were amazing compared to our little Powershot.

baby six months on tummy

What really sealed the deal was the photography session we went to this past weekend. He got some cute pictures, though J was rather uncooperative (as is often the case when you’re trying to take pictures of him). And when it came time to order prints… goodness gracious, photographers are expensive! As we left, my mom turned to me and said, “For what we just paid, we could have bought you half a camera.” It’s true.

Granted, I don’t have the experience or expertise or eye for photography that a professional would — but if I had a decent camera, I’d have the freedom to take pictures when J was feeling up to it (meaning a greater chance at capturing a smile or two) and could make prints or use the images in any way I wanted without having to pay someone for the copyright.

baby six months smiling

And with a little one around, we take a lot of pictures. Current tally is 2,063 since December 24, 2011. Yikes.

So the next day, we bought the camera, and tonight I finally got the chance to play with it. And I love it so far. I’ve got a lot of learning to do, but it’s fun to just play with the settings and see how things come out. (I will do some reading and tutorials later… for now I just wanna play with my toy!)

baby six months old

Aside from the shooting itself (so much more fun than with a point-and-shoot for some reason), I’m also enjoying doing some editing in Photoshop. I’m so glad to have something to work on in Photoshop again. It’s been a while since I really did a lot with it, and I’ve never really used it for editing my own photos before. It’ll be fun to learn more about that element of photography as well!

naked baby 6 months old

I also started a new board on Pinterest to put inspiration photos that I find. Do you know of any cool baby poses that I should try with J? What about online tips and tutorials for shooting kids with a DSLR? Or just friendly advice for a newbie photog?

One thought on “Momma got a new toy!

Leave a Reply

