Work-Life Balance: Breastfeeding With a Full-Time Job

I’m super lucky to have a job that allows me to work from home 3 days per week. Because of this, I get to take care of Baby J while continuing to work full time.

There’s nothing better than seeing this adorable kid’s face next to my desk!

This is especially awesome for me because I’ve been able to continue breastfeeding, even with a 40 hour work week. So how do I manage? Well, on those 3 days of the week (plus the weekends) that I’m at home, I feed J as usual. You can take a look at my previous post for a minute-by-minute account of what a random day is like in our house (right now, anyway) when I’m working from home.

But what about the days that I’m in the office?

Baby J attends a preschool just down the street from work. We tried a daycare near our house, but for a number of reasons, we were dissatisfied, so we restarted the search… and I’m so glad we ended up where we did! I’ll write more about choosing a daycare in another post.

Even though daycare is near work, I simply don’t have enough time in my work day to go feed him myself, so I have to send bottles with him. Here’s our schedule:

Baby J wakes up at about 6:30 or 7:30, and I change his diaper (put on a disposable for daycare), put on his clothes for the day, and feed him a big breakfast. (I’m usually pretty full in the mornings, especially after an 11-hour stretch of sleep like he had last night!) At 8:30, we leave for daycare. It takes about 20 minutes to get there, and once he’s all checked in, I feed him again (in the church library at the preschool). He’s not always super hungry, but at least I’m able to top him off.

While he’s at daycare (and I’m at work), Baby J eats two bottles of expressed milk, and I pump two bottles. (A bottle is 5 ounces.) My goal is to pump two (or more) full bottles each day I’m at work — that way we’re not using more than I’m producing, and I can keep up our store of frozen milk.

The schedule’s working beautifully right now. Again, I realize that I’m super duper lucky to work for a company that allows me to work from home and that supports my choice to breastfeed!

I love my job, and I also love parenting — I’m so glad I’m able to commit to both fully.

Added bonus — Pumping means my work day is that much more packed, which helps the work day go by faster so that I can snuggle and play with my baby sooner! ❤

2 thoughts on “Work-Life Balance: Breastfeeding With a Full-Time Job

  1. Pingback: Baby’s First Illness « This is Sesame.

  2. Pingback: How I Learned to Stop Partying and Love the Bedtime « This is Sesame.

Leave a Reply

